top of page

Alison Fisher
Intern, MSC Candidate

Hi, I’m excited to have the opportunity to meet and work with you.

My goal is to create a safe and authentic space for you to feel comfortable to share your concerns and work towards creating positive change in your life.

My Education & Experience:
I graduated from Arizona State University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology. After that, I spent several years in retail management and have spent the last 16 years working in higher education, most recently in corporate litigation.


I have always had a strong desire to help people, so I decided to go back to school and work towards earning my Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling at the University of Phoenix. I have gained invaluable experience working with diverse clients struggling with a variety of mental health issues including depression, anxiety, substance use, and trauma. I have also helped clients struggling with family, relationship, and work issues. My hope is that I will be able to make a positive difference in others’ lives and help people navigate life’s challenges.

Me, as a psychotherapist:
I believe that we all get stuck sometimes and need a little extra help. My focus is on helping individuals meet their goals in a way that works best for them. I utilize a variety of evidence-based approaches and interventions including cognitive behavior therapy (CBT), dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), and internal family systems (IFS), among others to help clients effectively address problems, build better communication and coping skills, and improve relationships.

I enjoy working with adults focusing on a wide range of issues including depression, anxiety, PTSD, trauma, abuse, self-harm, relationship challenges, life transitions, career concerns, self-esteem issues, and emotional dysregulation. I am passionate about working with people from all backgrounds and value differing perspectives and beliefs.

Alison Fisher headshot.jpeg

Me, as a person:

I have lived in Phoenix most of my life but grew up in the Bay Area, so my heart lies with big cities and tall buildings. I enjoy spending my free time lifting weights and enjoying my two French Bulldogs, Thor and Hazel. My husband and I like to eat at various restaurants and travel as frequently as we can. We have also spent the past year fostering young children in need of aloving and supportive home. I love to research information on anything that sparks my interest and am always looking for new things to learn.

I am a pre-licensed clinical intern working under the direct supervision of Kimberly Mahr, LPC.

bottom of page